Thursday, August 16, 2012

Day 11: Kait's House

Okay so this was actually a while ago but I forgot to post about it. I drove to my friend Kaitlyn's house for a sleepover :) it was exciting. Sure her house is only like 3 mins away from my house but she got to see me drive up and stuff!!! It was funny because when I walked in her house I said "Did you see me drive to your house like a big girl????" :)

Sunday, July 1, 2012

Day 10: Highway

My mother will say otherwise, but I drove on the highway today! I drove on Route 24 which leads to the mall near my house. It may have been early in the morning but there were still a good amount of cars on the road. Needless to say it was kind of scary.

I also almost hit a squirrel and freaked out. Dumb animals. Just kidding I love squirrels and chipmunks and stuff but seriously, get out of the road so I don't hit you!!

We drove around for a while (about 45 mins) and it was nerve-wracking (considering it's been 3 months since I last drove...) but it was kind of nice getting out on the real road again.

My dad and I are going to try and go driving at least once a week. Maybe twice if we feel up to it. Only on weekends though because he works really early.

I prefer driving on Sunday's versus Saturday's anyway because on Sunday's everyone is at church or sleeping in really late. It's much easier on me. And on my dads nerves :)

-Megan

Saturday, April 7, 2012

Day 9: Parking

I know it's been forever since I've last posted but that's because it's been forever since I last drove! The last 4 weekends have been crazy busy and I hadn't had a chance to drive in the mornings.

But today we went driving at 2 in the afternoon. Talk about lots of cars.

My dad needed to get some liquor for a party they're going to so I was the one who drove him :P I went the back-way and that meant 2 roundabouts and one left turn.

Then going home I went the regular way which meant 2 left turns but I did them very smoothly. I still don't know how big the streets are because apparently I'm six inches from the cars parked in the street.

But here's what I have to say to that: "We have driveways and garages for a reason!" :P

-Megan

Monday, March 12, 2012

Day 8: The Bank

I went shopping with my friend Kaitlyn yesterday and I needed money and I went to the bank to get more $ out of my account. Let's just say left turns aren't a strength of mine. I'm pretty good at everything else but left turns are....hard? I can't even describe it. I don't know why I don't like them. Maybe it's crossing agains traffic, maybe it's just scary, I don't even know. But turning out of the bank and going back home was...difficult. Left turns are no fun.

-Meg

Saturday, March 10, 2012

Day 7: Out Of Town

We drove to Aberdeen and back today! It wasn't too hard considering it was a straight shot from my house. 543 is a reeeeeeally long road.

We passed a school bus and I didn't freak out! Haha! I was afraid maybe I would ;) you know, because of my accident...yeah.....

I made a U-Turn as well! It was easier than I thought it would be but kind of confusing. Also, I keep overestimating my turns. Turning into my street I was all over the left lane. Luckily there were no cars out and about.

Wanna know something annoying? When you stop at a red light and just as you stop it immediately turns green! It happened at almost every light we stopped at! Soo frustrating.

All in all, I'm getting better. I can't wait to see where we go tomorrow!

-Megan

Sunday, March 4, 2012

Day 6: Big Circles

Today we drove on the real real road. Yes, I know, driving on any road is the real road. But today was the really real road. Like where there's the church and Safeway and stuff!

We started at the high school and drive on 543 until we got to the main intersection where the Rite Aid is. We drove all the way down that road past Applebee's until we got to the fire house. I turned at the light, drove down that road until we got to route 1 and drive back to the school. We did that twice but the second time around we went to CVS to get my sister's prescription. I parked perfectly in between the lines!!!! :)

Today wasn't too bad. I drove really well and didn't give Dad whiplash. Yay. :)

I'm getting better and less scared. Well, actually I am pretty scared until we're on the road. Then I calm down and just drive. It's getting progressively easier :)

-Megan

Sunday, February 26, 2012

Day 5: Getting Progressively Better

Today we drove on the real road again. Mostly just 543 though. We went around my neighborhood though a few times. That was okay but there's a lot of narrow medians on my street so that was hard :\

I'm getting a better feel for Dad's car. I'm getting better at knowing how close I am to the curb and stuff.

I even drove home. Like up through my culdesac. That was scary. Here weren't any people out but still. It's not a very wide road and a lot of the people on my street don't park in their driveways or garages. A lot of them park in the road. Which makes it even narrower :\ but oh well. I have to get used to it.

-Megan